The Prayers I Pray

A thought dawned on me the other day, and it threw me for a short spiritual loop that was an exhilarating little ride.

I frequently encourage expectant mothers to pray for their unborn child in specific, concrete ways. I do this, because Abba has already said “YES!” to so many of the prayers I prayed over L while she was in utero. Praying for her physical, mental, emotional, and spiritual development was forefront in my mind throughout my pregnancy, so I prayed for her a lot.

The other day, I made the comment, “When another soul takes up residence inside me again…” in reference to Kid2010. With both Nathan and L, I knew the moment their souls took up residence in my womb, because suddenly, I was aware that it was no longer just me and the Holy Spirit partying in my right ventricle (that’s where He lives, just so you know).

And it hit me. Like a frying pan the size of Oklahoma.

Me. Kid2010. Holy Spirit. 3 distinct beings dwelling inside my body at the same time. More importantly: Kid2010. Holy Spirit. Together. From conception.

What an opportunity to ask the Holy Spirit to minister to Kid2010! They’re literally occupying the same space (He can relocate to my womb during pregnancy and let me repaint the right ventricle while He’s away, can’t He?). From conception, this child will be in the presence of the Indwelling God.

Just thinking about it makes me have to sit down and think about breathing.

So now my prayers for Kid2010 are even more specific. I pray that the Spirit will minister to this child in utero. I pray that this child will learn His voice as He speaks to Kid2010. I pray that this child will learn the touch of His hand as He knits Kid2010 together in the dark places where life begins. I pray that from conception, this child will know Him more intimately than he/she could ever know my voice or the rhythm of my heart. No longer will I pray “From birth, may this child come to know You.” Instead, I pray, “From conception, may this child come to know You.”

And why not? John the Baptist leaped in Elizabeth’s womb when Mary, pregnant with the Son of God, came to visit. If John, as an unborn child, could recognize his Lord, then why can my child not recognize Him, too?

For it was You who created my inward parts;
You knit me together in my mother’s womb.

I will praise You,
because I have been remarkably and wonderfully made.
Your works are wonderful,
and I know [this] very well.

My bones were not hidden from You
when I was made in secret,
when I was formed in the depths of the earth.

Your eyes saw me when I was formless;
all [my] days were written in Your book and planned
before a single one of them began.

God, how difficult Your thoughts are
for me [to comprehend];
how vast their sum is!

If I counted them,
they would outnumber the grains of sand;
when I wake up, I am still with You.

Psalm 139:13-18, HCSB

3 thoughts on “The Prayers I Pray

Leave a Reply

