The Valley Song (Sing of Your Mercy)

You have led me to the sadness
I have carried this pain
On a back bruised, nearly broken
I’m crying out to You

I will sing of Your mercy
That leads me through valleys of sorrow
To rivers of joy

When death like a gypsy
Comes to steal what I love
I will still look to the heavens
I will still seek Your face

But I fear You aren’t listening
Because there are no words
Just the stillness and the hunger
For a faith that assures

I will sing of Your mercy
That leads me through valleys of sorrow
To rivers of joy

Alleluia, alleluia
Alleluia, alleluia

While we wait for rescue
With our eyes tightly shut
Face to the ground using our hands
To cover the fatal cut

Though the pain is an ocean
Tossing us around, around, around
You have calmed greater waters
Higher mountains have come down

I will sing of Your mercy
That leads me through valleys of sorrow
To rivers of joy

Alleluia, alleluia
Alleluia, alleluia

-jars of clay-

It amazes me what the soul can remember as vividly as if it occurred yesterday. It amazes me that I can still hurt so deeply in the midst of undying gratitude. It amazes me that You still weep with me. You amaze me, Jesus, with Your dauntless ability to be with me where I am, to comfort me over and over, again and one more time. You amaze me, Jesus, that You can willingly trade the sorrow of death for the joyful dancing of life. Help me hand this sorrow back to You over and over, again and one more time. Help me had it back until I am Home where there are no more tears to cry, where there is no more pain to endure, where there is no more yearning for him.

One thought on “The Valley Song (Sing of Your Mercy)

Leave a Reply

