The Prayers I Pray

Last night, in my quiet time, I prayed:

Father, You know how tired I am. Please, help me sleep. Bless me with recuperative rest and let me wake up in the morning at least rested. I don’t ask for more than feeling rested, though I am so tired of how tired I am, because I also don’t want to fall back on my own strength instead of Yours.”

Today, I read this quote from D.L. Moody’s book The Way to God and How to Find It:

God can do what He has done before. He kept Joseph in Egypt; Moses before Pharaoh; Daniel in Babylon; and enabled Elijah to stand before Ahab in that dark day. And I am thankful that these I have mentioned were men of like passions with ourselves. It was God who made them so great. What man wants is to look to God. Real true faith is man’s weakness leaning on God’s strength. When man has no strength, if he leans on God he becomes powerful. The trouble is that we have too much strength and confidence in ourselves.”

I interpret the proximity of these events as God’s way of saying, “I honor your prayer, Beloved, and I will give you what rest you need, but never more than that to keep you from relying on yourself.”

So, thank You. Thank You for what you give me, because it’s enough.

LORD, You are my portion
and my cup of blessing;
You hold my future.
The boundary lines have fallen for me
in pleasant places;
indeed, I have a beautiful inheritance.
Psalm 16:5-6, HCSB

One thought on “The Prayers I Pray

Leave a Reply

