Perspective

Life sprints.
Me?
I keep stumbling along behind it
Ever and always striving to catch it.
That pain gnaws in the tight place of my lungs.
Fiery.
I need to control my breathing.
But life sprints.
Me?
I keep panting along behind it
Ever and always hoping to grasp it.
That ache chews in the desperate place of my heart.
Fiery.
I need to control my everything.

image

“Don’t be hasty,” they said.
I laughed through the tears.
They stopped and stared.
Expectant.
A bit bossy.
“Don’t be hasty,” they said.
I stopped and heard them.
A thousand hills. ,,
All of them His.
Altogether lovely.

And I rested in our Maker’s calm hands.

One thought on “Perspective

  1. Oh, my heart! I still remember some years ago receiving the same, powerful message word-for-word, with a little inspiration from one of my sweetest friends. 😉

Leave a Reply

